Kim Kashkashian, Robert Levin - Elegies (1986)
FLAC (tracks), Lossless | Label: ECM New Series / ECM Records | Classical, Modern Classical, Contemporary | 00:50:48 | 214 Mb

01. Britten: Lachrymae, Op. 48
02. Vaughan Williams: Romance
03. Carter: Elegy
04. Glazunov: Elegie, Op. 44
05. Liszt: Romance OubliEe
06. Kodaly: Adagio
07. Vieuxtemps: Elegie, Op. 30
Piano - Robert Levin
Viola - Kim Kashkashian
This elegiac music seems very well-suited to the dark sound of the viola. Kashkashian plays it simply and very expressively, without slides or sentimentality; glowing and shimmering, her tone is pure, warm, inflected. The program has great variety. Britten's mournful Lachrymae (Reflections on a Song of John Dowland) comes to an agitated climax and ends with an old chorale. Vaughan Williams's Romance is a peaceful pastoral; Carter's Elegy is somber, gentle, and hardly dissonant; Glasunov's Elegy is very romantic. Liszt's Romance is very rhetorical--half recitation, half lamentation--but ends serenely. Kodaly's Adagio, solemn and inward, comes to a passionate climax; the opening returns in the highest register. Vieuxtemps's romantic virtuoso piece has musical substance as well as passion, rhetoric, a big climax, and a wild, brilliant ending. --Edith Eisler
Download link:
Links are Interchangeable - Single Extraction - Premium is support resumable

Alternate Link for Kim Kashkashian, Robert Levin - Elegies (1986).rar When above links are dead

Hello Respective Visitor!

Please Login or Create a FREE Account to gain accesss to hidden contents.


Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.