Maria Lettberg - Poeme de l'Extase - Piano music by Scriabin, Liszt, Messiaen etc. (2015)

Artist: Maria Lettberg
Title: Poeme de l'Extase - Piano music by Scriabin, Liszt, Messiaen etc.
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Es-Dur
Genre: Classical, Piano
Quality: FLAC
Total Time: 1:10:44
Total Size: 189 MB


1. Le Poème de l'extase (Transcrion by Sergei Pavchinsky) 19:43
2. La lugubre gondola, S. 200/1 7:41
3. Naître et disparaître (Hommage à Skrjabin) 9:09
4. Tombeau de Scriabine, Op. 22: I. Prélude 4:29
5. Tombeau de Scriabine, Op. 22: II. Transmutations12:24
6. I. Regard du Père 6:19
7. Vingt Regards sur l'Enfant-Jésus: XX. Regard de l'Église d'amour 10:59

Latvian-born pianist Maria Lettberg confesses to being addicted to the music of Alexander Scriabin. To mark the 100th anniversary of his death, she releases a very personal homage in which his orchestral 'Poème de l'extase' (in a highly-demanding transcrion for solo piano) takes centre stage, alongside pieces by Liszt and Messiaen, and a pair - by Harald Banter and by Manfred Kelkel - both based on the Russian's music.

Scriabin's large-scale orchestral work, 'Poème de l'extase', completed in 1908, is a piece that Maria Lettberg feels reflects his entire creative output. The poem on which it is based tells of a spirit which soars upwards, seemingly to new spheres of consciousness. Lettberg views this idea of ecstasy in Scriabin's work not only as breaking free, but also as yearning and "in a theosophical sense, the creation of the universe as an erotic act".

Olivier Messiaen was not a Scriabinite, but the aesthetic connections are clearly recognisable: synaesthesia, a penchant for orientalism and pantheism, and the creation of a new world vision - the world of ecstasy. Lettberg's choice of the first and last pieces from Messiaen's great piano cycle of 1944, 'Vingt regards sur l'enfant-Jésus', leads the listener into a world of religious intoxication. And in Franz Liszt's 'La lugubre gondola', written in mourning for Richard Wagner, one can also hear ecstasy - Liszt's later works exhibit many parallels to Scriabin.

Musicologist and Scriabin researcher Manfred Kelkel's 'Tombeau de Scriabine' was commissioned in 1972 by Radio France for the 100th anniversary of Scriabin's birth. 'Naître et disparaître' by jazz musician Harald Banter, composed in 2008 a hundred years after 'Poème de l'extase' and dedicated to Lettberg, grapples with Scriabin's idea of the act of creation in the cosmos.

Maria Lettberg has recorded two previous CDs for ES-Dur, both widely praised. The first 'Opus Posthum' features the early piano music of Scriabin while 'The Enchanted Garden' comprises piano transcrions of stage works by Glinka, Rimsky-Korsakov and Stravinsky.

Download link:

Buy Premium From My LinksTo Support Me & Download with MaX SPeeD!

Alternate Link for Maria Lettberg - Poeme de l'Extase - Piano music by Scriabin, Liszt, Messiaen etc. (2015).rar When above links are dead

Hello Respective Visitor!

Please Login or Create a FREE Account to gain accesss to hidden contents.


Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.