Arthur Adams - Back on Track (1999)
Arthur Adams - Back on Track (1999)
EAC Rip | FLAC (image & cue & log) | 296 MB | MP3 CBR 320 kbps | 103 MB | Artwork (PNG 300 dpi) | 26 MB | 45:23
Genre: Modern Electric Blues / Soul Blues | Country: USA | Label: Blind Pig Records | BPCD 5055

Guitarist Arthur Adams is primarily known as a session player, not to mention the bandleader at friend and collaborator B.B. King's Los Angeles blues club. On his first solo album in 20 years, Adams's guitar work is sure and deft, with the confidence that comes from years of experience. He's got a great voice, too, with an appealing smoothness that sounds fresh and contemporary, and that never lacks for expressiveness. The songwriting on Back on Track is mature, whether Adams is tackling the modern breakup (complete with lawyers and court settlements) in "Who Does She Think She Is" or exploring the complications of personal devotion in "Backup Man." He rocks out too, especially on the sensual "Honda Betty" (complete with horns) or the strong, driving "Jumpin' the Gun.
"If the music's not exactly mind-blowing, well, it isn't meant to be; its impact is felt in its unhurried thoughtfulness; Adams does ballads especially well. And, of course, there's the King guest spots on "Get You Next to Me" and "The Long Haul.

Tennessee-born, Los Angeles-based singer/guitarist Adams, who has been a sideman for the better part of four decades, is billed to sing like an angel (he is from that City) and play guitar like a man possessed. It's not hard to buy. His vocalizing has a sweet, soulful quality ala Robert Cray or at times Bobby Bland. And his electric six string takes definite cues from his idol, B.B. King, who employs Adams at his L.A. club and shows up on two of these tracks.
Adams wrote 3/4 of these slick tunes, typically ranging from straight mid-tempo to downhearted blues about women. "Honda Betty" is as contemporary a theme as you'll find, and there are some T-Bone Walker-like shuffles as on "Jumpin' The Gun" and the cookin' "Good, Good, Good." Some fine horn charts punctuate five cuts, back-up vocals on two, and B.B. cameos on "Get You Next to Me," and the signature slow "Long Haul." A personal "Rehabilitation Song" speaks of being in a halfway house and the abuse that preceded it, pleading for forgiveness.
The final selection "Backup Man" could be a double entendre, expressing frustration about being a part time lover or a star in the shadows. Adams has many redeeming qualities on a restrained blues and contemporary pop level. Perhaps a live recording will reveal more from this gifted musician who perfectly reflects the carefree attitude of his adopted home.
~Review by Michael G. Nastos

01. Back on Track (3:34)
02. Get You Next to Me (4:55)
03. Who Does She Think She Is (3:34)
04. The Long Haul (4:24)
05. No Big Deal (3:59)
06. Jumpin' the Gun (4:11)
07. You Really Got It Going On (4:45)
08. Good Good Good (3:31)
09. Rehabilitation Song (4:23)
10. Honda Betty (4:20)
11. Backup Man (3:47)
Download link:
Links are Interchangeable - Single Extraction - Premium is support resumable

Alternate Link for Arthur Adams - Back on Track (1999).rar When above links are dead

Hello Respective Visitor!

Please Login or Create a FREE Account to gain accesss to hidden contents.


Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.