Ahmad Jamal - The Legendary Okeh & Epic Recordings (2005)

Ahmad Jamal - The Legendary Okeh & Epic Recordings (2005)
Artist: Ahmad Jamal
Title: The Legendary Okeh & Epic Recordings
Year Of Release: 2005
Label: Epic / Legacy
Genre: Jazz / Bop
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 01:15:14
Total Size: 264 MB


01. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top (2:51)
02. Will You Still Be Mine (2:44)
03. Ahamd's Blues (2:56)
04. A Gal In Calico (2:37)
05. Aki And Ukthay (3:07)
06. Billy Boy (2:40)
07. Black Beauty (3:27)
08. Love For Sale (8:32)
09. Something To Remember You By (2:49)
10. Poinciana (4:36)
11. Don't Blame Me (3:22)
12. Autumn Leaves (2:41)
13. They Can't Take That Away From Me (3:00)
14. Old Devil Moon (3:45)
15. It's Easy To Remember (2:56)
16. Squeeze Me (3:51)
17. Crazy He Calls Me (4:59)
18. Pavanne (4:25)
19. Perfidia (3:57)
20. Rica Pulpa (3:51)
21. The Donkey Serenade (3:19)

This collection brings together the early OKeh and Epic recordings of innovative jazz pianist Ahmad Jamal, recorded between 1951 and 1955. Jamal ushered in a new era of melodic improvisation that stood in sharp contrast to bebop's previous innovations. These recordings were all done in trio settings, where the pianist was accompanied by guitarist Ray Crawford, and either Eddie Calhoun (1951 and 1952) or Israel Crosby on bass. The shimmering solos and light as a feather chord voicings are anything but lightweight. Sharp, harmonic invention, economical yet intuitive phrasing, and a deft sense of time pushed Jamal's star to ascendancy. Standout cuts here are his "Surrey with the Fringe on Top," which extrapolates the melody into new harmonic terrain; the beautiful arrangement of the traditional "Billy Boy"; Fats Waller's "Squeeze Me" with its beautiful ostinato, and Jamal's glorious read of "Perfidia." The sound on this set is gloriously remastered. There are period liner notes by Nat Hentoff, and a moving and appreciative essay by Randy Weston. -- Thom Jurek

Buy Premium From My Links To Get Resumable Support,Max Speed & Support Me

Alternate Link for Ahmad Jamal - The Legendary Okeh & Epic Recordings (2005).rar When above links are dead

Hello Respective Visitor!

Please Login or Create a FREE Account to gain accesss to hidden contents.


Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.